“Catch Thirty Three” by Meshuggah

Artist: Meshuggah
Title: “Catch Thirty-Three”
Label: Nuclear Blast Records
Release Date: 5/31/2005
Genre: Industrial Death
Rating: 7.5

The new Meshuggah release of “Catch Thirty-Three” on Nuclear Blast Records is definitely a departure from their last endeavors yet then again this is a band that has never followed convention in the past. So why start now? The CD is actually one long song that has been divided into sections to allow it to be easier to appreciate. Everything on the piece seems to lock in to the groove lined up on the very first track and as the CD runs along this riff modifies and transforms and even returns at times. It is quite interesting to listen to and really must be played as a whole piece. There is a chance that the fans of Meshuggah might not be sure of what to make of this CD at first because there are also some changes in the way it is laid out musically. Absent are the guitar solos that are often very impressive and this time the drumming is programmed. It’s a sad thing to subtract the power that Tomas Haake delivers on the drums a well as Fredrik’s solos but Marten Hagstrom has promised that the next record will be more true to form and what the fans are more used to. This was a record the band wanted to address and clearly “Catch Thirty-Three” will be a part of the touring set when that happens so don’t be left behind on the material.

If I had to pick some personal favorites on the CD I lean towards “Autonomy Lost” and “Shed” almost immediately. However since this is one long song, these happen to be my favorite sections of that song. Overall the music is heavy and the production of the release is excellent. I think new and old fans will be intrigued by the experiments that this band undertakes. “Catch Thirty-Three” is just another fascinating piece of the puzzle that is Meshuggah. Don’t miss out.

Track Listing:
1. Autonomy Lost
2. Imprint Of The Un-Saved
3. Disenchantment
4. The Paradoxical Spiral
5. Re-Inanimate
6. Entrapment
7. Mind’s Mirrors
8. In Death – Is Life
9. In Death – Is Death
10. Shed
11. Personae Non Grata
12. Dehumanization
13. Sum

Official Website: www.Meshuggah.net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.