“Bomber” – Deluxe Edition (remaster) by Motorhead

Artist: Motorhead
Title: “Bomber” – Deluxe Edition (remaster)
Label: Sanctuary Records
Release Date: 2/10/2009
Hard Rock/Heavy Metal
Rating: 4/5

In celebration of the bands 30th anniversary back in 2005, Sanctuary Records released remastered and expanded editions of many of the Motorhead classic albums. The double disc editions would feature the original album along with a second disc that was loaded with live tracks, rarities and outtakes that made them must haves for the discriminating fans music library. Full color booklets came par for the course with the remasters and they featured photos and topical information about the band during the time of the albums initial release that was really interesting historical reading. We reviewed a number of these albums when they first came out and since the musical content was the same we have re-presented our original comments about them below.

“Bomber”, released in 1979 would be an album that would line out more of the groundwork for what we could come to expect from this band fronted by Lemmy Kilminster who along with “Fast” Eddie Clarke and Philthy “Animal” Taylor. This was not a Metal band but scores of them would form under their influence and cite them as the true loudest band in the world. Some memorable tracks come from this release such as “Dead Men Tell No Tales” and of course the title track “Bomber”. Those that know the bands history would be aware of the fact that the band used to travel with a giant Bomber as their stage prop and lighting rig. Some great photos of this imposing stage decoration are in the booklet as well. This album is known also for featuring the first and only song sung by Clarke, which falls to “Step Down”. Overall this is a solid effort, but not as good as the predecessor “Overkill” nor would it hold as much impact on the future of Motorhead as “Ace Of Spades” would when it was released. The remaster of this release includes a second CD of B-sides which many of which were available before. Despite that reservation, these are incredible releases and should be a part of anyone’s collection.

Bonus CD: Over The Top, Stone Dead Forever, Sharpshooter, Bomber, Step Down, Leaving Here, Stone Dead Forever, Dead Men Tell No Tales, Too Late Too Late, Step Down.

The cosmetic differences between these remasters and the initial batch are minimal but the first and most prominent one is that the jewel case which fit snugly into a cardboard sleeve has been changed. The CD’s now come on a double cardboard digipak that slides into a clear plastic sleeve while the artwork on the CD’s now feature the full visage of “Snaggletooth” as opposed to only half of his sinister mug and these new releases are black instead of the wider array of colors on the earlier ones. The booklets and content remain the same and while the hold a pricy tag for a double disc set in this economy, they are high recommendations based on the bands impact and relevance to Metal music history.

Track Listing:
1. Dead Men Tell No Tales
2. Lawman
3. Sweet Revenge
4. Sharpshooter
5. Poison
6. Stone Dead Forever
7. All The Aces
8. Step Down
9. Talking Head
10. Bomber

Official Website: http://www.imotorhead.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.