“Big Bang Theory” by Styx

Artist: Styx
Title: “Big Bang Theory”
Label: New Door Records
Release Date: 5/10/2005
Genre: Rock
Rating: 7.5

Styx is definitely one of the greatest arena rock bands of all time. I remember when I first heard tracks like “Lorelei” and “Come Sail Away”; these classic rockers were comparable to Progressive Rock before the term was widely used. In any case they really kicked it up a notch for Rock and Roll and their material has withstood the tests of time with some of it sounding fresh as if it were recorded today. Over the years the lineup has had some changes with lead singer & keyboardist Dennis DeYoung leaving several years ago. Drummer John Panozzo passed away while illness eventually kept bassist Chuck Panozzo from the rigors of touring. This left the band with Tommy Shaw and James Young as the only original members of the lineup. However, the two guitarists were not to let Styx and their music fall by the wayside as they filled in the spaces with some incredibly talented people. On drums came Todd Sucherman while bass would be handled by Ricky Phillips. Lead vocals and keyboards was now the task of Lawrence Gowan who is a capable man indeed in both of these areas.

In the absence of a full album worth of new original material the band opted to have some fun and release an album of cover tunes. I used to feel these were merely means of contract filling, but I admit that Styx had me enjoying their renditions of some of these classic songs. In particular “I Am The Walrus” was amazing as was “I Don’t Need No Doctor”. These numbers clearly suit the voice that rocker Gowan possesses. During “One Way Out” drummer Sucherman shines and plays so well that you can almost imagine John P. smiling down on him. “Manic Depression” is also performed very well and gives the King’s X version a run for its money. Showing a more sensitive side, Gowan achieves a rousing success on “Cant Find My Way Home”. The band even delivers a different take on their own number “Blue Collar Man”, I found that was interesting to say the least. There is more, but I will let the reader go do some checking on their own.

Overall this is a must have for all Styx fans because there is more good and no actual bad on the piece. I feel this lineup of Styx is worthy of the fan support for their dedication and tenacity to keep going despite changes and loss. It’s admirable when a band can do that and still sound good.

Track Listing:
1. I Am The Walrus
2. I Can See For Miles
3. Can’t Find My Way Home
4. It Don’t Make Sense (You Can’t Make Peace)
5. I Don’t Need No Doctor
6. One Way Out
7. Salty Dog
8. Summer In The City
9. Manic Depression
10. Talkin’ About The Good Times
11. Locomotive Breath
12. Find The Cost Of Freedom
13. Wishing Well
14. Blue Collar Man 2120

Official Web site: http://www.StyxWorld.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.