“Battering Ram” by Iron Savior

Artist: Iron Savior
Title: “Battering Ram”
Label: Noise Records
Release Date: 6/22/2004
Genre: Heavy Metal/Power Metal
Rating: 9/10

This CD starts off with a bang that instantly gets you into the groove of the music. While Iron Savior has been around for a few albums already I have not had any exposure to them so I was not certain what to expect from them with this release. However, loading “Battering Ram” into the CD player did not give me any disappointment. One thing that stands out on this CD in particular is that it is a definite homage to the early power metal that came before it. Heavy tracks with excellent guitars and drums and vocal lines that make you raise your voices and fists into the air. There are also a wide variety of styles going through the piece, not all numbers are fast. One or two of them have a Judas Priest feel while others could be a Motley Crue track if done by those bands. Not bad comparisons.

Standout tracks for me are definitely the first three numbers on the CD. The lineup for this release is Piet Sielck (guitar, lead vocals), Yenz Leonhardt (bass & backing vocals), Joachim “Piesel” Küstner (guitars & backing vocals), Thomas Nack (drums & percussion). The vocals don’t lose a step throughout the whole piece and the backups prompt you to sing along. The guitar work is clean and enjoyable. Not over the top with lead riffs, only where they are best suited. The drumming is steady and rumbles throughout. A nice clean production overall.

I mentioned earlier how I was not educated in the back catalog. This does not change the high number I have given this CD. It is good enough for the new listener and a must have for the die hard fan. This is also a great piece for someone who is looking for a solid piece of metal to enjoy. Noise records has been doing some good for the forces of metal and this is another good one. Check it out.

Track Listing:
1. Battering Ram
2. Stand Against The King
3. Tyranny Of Steel
4. Time Will Tell
5. Wings Of Deliverance
6. Break The Curse
7. Riding Curse
8. Starchaser
9. Machine World
10. H.M. Powered Man

Official Site: http://www.iron-savior.com/

Editor’s Note: This article was written for another medium prior to the 2005 launch of PiercingMetal.com and has been added to our content for your enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.