“Attera Orbis Terrarum” by Dark Funeral

Artist: Dark Funeral
Title: “Attera Orbis Terrarum”
Label: Regain Records
Release Date: 11/6/2007
Genre: Black Metal
Rating: 4/5

So you find that Black Metal is your thing and the more extreme and blasphemous that it is as far as overall content goes then all the better for serving your dark needs. You feel that Dimmu Borgir is too Symphonic for your tastes and that Cradle Of Filth is absurd and if any of this is right on target in describing you then there is no better place for you to direct your hatred for the pious and sanctified than at the feet of those masters from Hell – Sweden’s mighty Dark Funeral. “Attera Orbis Terrarum” captures the band on their first ever live DVD and it is loaded with content that is sure to satisfy the hungriest of Black Metal appetites. It’s also different from other DVD releases of this kind because with this one you don’t only get one show but instead are treated to three professionally filmed appearances of the band in front of the most maniacal of followers. Each show differs in sonic quality and visual and some are better than the others but the bottom line is that this really delivers the goods should this be the band that is high on your list of favorites. The first DVD features the performance from Metal Mania 2005 in Poland and while a little older in terms of its content finds the most professionally filmed show of the three. The Metal Mania folks always manage to use several cameras to the best effect and while a bit streamlined for some of the purists tastes, it is literally best footage that has ever been presented of the band. The song selection is loaded up to the hilt with eleven trips into the profane and blasphemous.

The second show comes almost a year to the date later from the Netherlands and is slightly different in terms of the song content. Highlights from both shows include “King Antichrist”, “Goddess Sodomy” and “An Apprentice Of Satan” as each delivers the bands unholy images very vividly. The second DVD presents a concert from France that comes recorded one week after the Netherlands show and as result the set list is exactly the same. That might not appeal to the fans but at least the camera work is different along with the angles and production which make it a little easier to sit through without finding it an Extreme Metal version of déjà-vu. The second DVD also offers up about an hour’s worth of fan footage and this is really something for the absolute diehard when it comes down to it. The footage is shot from the sidelines, photo pits and crowds it would seem from shows that occurred all over the world. While it’s not my cup of tea, as I seldom enjoy “fan footage”, I felt that it did give viewers a safe view inside the Black Metal hurricane that is a Dark Funeral concert. Having seen the band I can tell that the middle of the crowd is not the best place to be if you are the casual listener. Some of this footage is better than other and the sound seems to have been cleaned up a little so it does not sound as distorted as one often finds in such features. This footage covers the years 1994 until 2007 so perhaps some of you attended one of the shows on it. One special note is that the fan footage also features a little of the bands first appearance ever from May 4th, 1994.

A booklet comes with this release that gives you a lot of photos as well as some liner notes from the band. While you don’t have to be an extreme Black Metal fan to enjoy this, but of course it helps, there is over 200 minutes of relentless bombardment here that shows why Dark Funeral is one of the leaders in this aspect of the genre and will probably hold that title for some time going forward. The lineup for this release features Emperor Magus Caligula, Lord Ahriman, Chaq Mol, B-Force and Matte Modin,

Track Listing: DVD1
1. Blood For Satan
2. The Arrival Of Satan’s Empire
3. Ravenna Strogoi Mortii
4. The Secrets Of The Black Arts
5. Hail Murder
6. Open The Gates
7. Thus I Have Spoken
8. An Apprentice Of Satan
9. Goddess Of Sodomy
10. When Angels Die Forever
11. Armageddon Finally Comes
12. Intro
13. King Antichrist
14. Diabolis Interium
15. Ravenna Strigoi Mortii
16. The Arrival Of Satan’s Empire
17. Open The Gates
18. Vobiscum Satanas
19. 666 Voices Inside
20. Attera Totus Sanctus
21. Bloodfrosen
22. Hail Murder
23. Atrum Regina
24. My Dark Desires
25. An Apprentice Of Satan

Official Website:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.