“Ascendancy” (deluxe edition) by Trivium

Artist: Trivium
Title: “Ascendancy” (deluxe edition)
Label: Roadrunner Records
Release Date: 5/9/2006
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 4/5

Trivium is one of the bands that are on the fast track to super stardom in the Metal world of today and with almost every song on their sophomore album “Ascendancy” they show you why this is the case. The band released this album loaded with the growls of today but at the same time there is a lot of the melodic guitar work and power chords from days gone by. The influences of Trivium clearly reside in the glory days of eighties and nineties Thrash Metal and this helps them stand a little higher than a lot of bands their age who are sticking to the format of what is happening today alone. The strong melodic Metal on this CD gives the listener a number of powerful but at the same time catchy tracks. Songs such as “Like Light To The Flies” mix several different feels of Metal together and showcase some unique time signature changes that will appeal to any riff head. The clean vocal chorus makes the tune a crowd chanter as well and when you listen you can envision the fists pumped up for this one. “Pull Harder On The Strings Of Your Martyr” shows off the tasty drumming very well while “Dying In Your Arms” rises up as the bands power ballad and song all the female fans will probably flock to. The band comprised of Matt Heafy (vox, guitar), Travis Smith (drums), Corey Beaulieu (guitars) and Paolo Gregoletto (bass) prove that melody does not have to be sacrificed in order to be harder, faster and heavier than ones peers. There are quite a bit of speedy moshable moments on the release and each are sure to inspire circle pits at any show they are performed in. The release reviewed here is the Special Edition version and this is worth the price as it not only expands upon the original release with four extra tracks that include a great version of Metallica’s “Master Of Puppets”, but it also includes a DVD with a load of additional video and live performance footage.

DVD Features: All of the bands videos to date – Like Light To The Flies, Pull Harder On The Strings Of Your Martyr, A Gunshot To The Head Of Trepidation, Rain, & Dying In Your Arms. It also features a live concert from the London Astoria from 9/18/05 with the songs: Rain, Dying In Your Arms, Like Light To The Flies, A Gunshot To The Head Of Trepidation & Pull Harder On The Strings Of Your Martyr.

I don’t see Trivium slowing down any time soon after this one so take a chance on a solid release by snaring a copy of “Ascendancy” for your Metal collection.

Track Listing:
1. The End Of Everything
2. Rain
3. Pull Harder On The Strings Of Your Martyr
4. Drowned And Torn Asunder
5. Ascendancy
6. A Gunshot To The Head Of Trepidation
7. Like Light To The Flies
8. Dying In Your Arms
9. The Decieved
10. Suffocating Sight
11. Departure
12. Declaration
13. Blinding Tears Will Break The Skies – bonus
14. Washing Away Me In The Tides- bonus
15. Master Of Puppets – bonus
16. Dying In Your Arms – alt mix

Official Website: www.trivium.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.