“Artery Recordings Summer Sampler 2010” by Various Artists

Artist: Various Artists
Title: “Artery Recordings Summer Sampler 2010”
Label: Razor & Tie Entertainment
Release Date: 9/14/2010
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 3.5/5

Artery Recordings is a relatively new label imprint that is delivering some power to the Metal scene and you might be wondering if you should pay any attention to what they are offering you as a fan of the genre. You would not be chastised for such a stance based on the incredible amount of bands already active and keeping you entertained on a regular basis. With this in mind, the fine folks over at Artery have decided to give you a ten song sampler that features five of their bands for free. Yes I said free and who doesn’t like this being the case in today’s economy. I admit to being as new to their roster as the next person so I approached this with some level of interest and wondered if I would enjoy or be able to relate some of the acts to ones that I was already listening to. I started my adventures with the two tracks from Attila and these guys had your conventional stop and start breakdowns and reminded me a little bit of a combination of both Unearth and All That Remains. I leaned to their “Girls Don’t Lie” track the most of the two. A Bullet For A Pretty Boy was next on my list and had a lot of the clean melodic vocals that seemed plagued by pain while a dark vocal bookended them. I recommend them for fans of bands like Underoath and perhaps even I Killed The Prom Queen to toss an odd name into the mix. Bury Tomorrow had a lot of similar vibe going on with ABFAPB and its safe to say that if you enjoy one, that you will enjoy the other. Chelsea Grin was not that bad with their two submissions and really was fitting into the Whitechapel way of things if I had to offer the readers some comparison. The vocals in Chelsea Grin were grating on me just a little bit when the singer went into a higher screeching register as opposed to keeping it either dark or making it more melodic. I guess I am getting fussy in my old age. I Declare War closed up my perusal of these downloads and yes I realize that I did them in alphabetical order as opposed to the way that they are on the MP3 download but this was how I-Tunes presented them to me, and will likely be the way that you enjoy them as well. These guys played a lot with the crunching and slow breakdown and I enjoyed how they did this and there are no clean vocals to be found with them, at least on these tunes. They were the most Doomish, and break something in front of you heavy for lack of a better description.

It’s not a bad beginning for a label that seems to be focusing on the “Core” audience more than the conventional Metal one or those that are rallying to the charge of the Pagan and Viking stuff. If you are a fan of what has been going on over at Metal Blade Records these last couple of years in terms of all the Metal core they have been dishing out, then this will only expand your library and expertise on that side of the genre. After these couple of listens I can say that the bands I want to hear more of sooner rather than later are A Bullet For A Pretty Boy and Bury Tomorrrow since they are more in gear with what I like from the “Core” vibe. No matter your preference this is a great way to enjoy some new Metal and for you to be able to do it for free. Be the first in your Metal circle to say you were into these bands when they were on the rise. Oh and before I forget to tell you this, Artery Recordings is a joint venture that has close ties to Razor & Tie Entertainment and that label has already given us some rising stars like Semi Precious Weapons and All That Remains.

Track Listing:
1. Chelsea Grin – “Sonnet of the Wretched”
2. Chelsea Grin – “Desolation of Eden”
3. Bury Tomorrow – “You and I”
4. Bury Tomorrow – “Her Bones In The Sand”
5. Attila – “Girls Don’t Lie”
6. Attila – “The Invitation”
7. I Declare War – “Extermination Process”
8. I Declare War – “Damnation Enslavement”
9. A Bullet For Pretty Boy – “I Will Destroy the Wisdom of the Wise”
10. A Bullet For Pretty Boy – “Beauty in the Eyes of the Beholder”

Official Website: http://www.arteryrecordings.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.