“An Evening Of Yes Music Plus” (DVD) by Anderson, Bruford, Wakeman & Howe

Artist: Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe
Title: “An Evening Of Yes Music Plus”
Label: Music Video Distributors
Release Date: 8/28/2007
Genre: Progressive Rock
Rating: 4/5

Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe is a band that makes up four fifths of the legendary Progressive Rock group Yes and in 1989 these musicians recorded an album that bore the same name and would support it with an extensive tour. This tour would feature many of the originals from this debut album along with a strong compliment of Yes classics and so special was the occasion of the live recording that it would be available to any cable television subscriber who wanted to order it via something that was called “Pay Per View”. Since this was 1989, the term was still quite new but in today’s world it’s much more commonplace and is done very often for concerts and special sporting events. I still remember begging my parents to let me order the program and swore I would pay them back. These PPV Specials were great as you would be able to invite friends over for a live concert that was happening right in your living rooms. The concert for ABWH begins with some orchestral flourishing and instead of seeing the entire group onstage from the get go, we instead find singer Jon Anderson walking out among the crowd as he makes his way to the stage. Singing and touching the outstretched hands of the audience in attendance while he walks, Anderson does his vocal lines with the help of a rhythm guitarist onstage. When he is finished we find Steve Howe doing the same thing and performing solo to the audience and then Rick Wakeman does the same. It was definitely an interesting way to start out as one normally expects the full group to perform at the onset of a concert like this. Leave it to the Progressive innovators to change things up once again. It’s not until the beginning of “Long Distance Runaround” that we find drummer Bill Bruford onstage accompanying them on a tambourine before he jumps behind his tremendous kit of Simmons electronic drums. As a drummer, Bruford was one of the biggest advocates of these types of percussion implements and he led the charge into their being accepted by more performers.

The concert is quite good and while the ABWH debut album possessed a number of solid tracks the greater appeal lies in the delivery of the Yes material. It’s hard not to lean on the classic tunes such as “Close To The Edge” and “I’ve Seen All Good People” when its being done by so many members of the classic seventies lineup of the venerated Progressive juggernaut. To compliment their sound the four members of Yes are joined onstage by other musicians who help better to bring the show to life. Also featured are the talents of Julian Colbeck (keyboards), Milton McDonald (rhythm guitar), and Jeff Berlin (bass). The ABWH album features Tony Levin on bass, but Berlin would do the tour. I would say that the only downside is the lack of any additional bonus material such as a documentary about this groups all too brief existence in some sort of “looking back on” feature or even some interview footage with some of the personnel who were involved. You get the concert and its original artwork – nothing else. This performance was released several years ago and is still available at a higher price but thanks to the people at MVD Visual, Yes and Progressive fans around the world can own it for a more accommodating price. This is a great addition to your video collection of Yes films.

Track Listing:
1. Benjamin Britten’s Young Person’s Guide To The Orchestra
2. Jon Anderson Solo (Time And A Word, Teakbois, Owner Of A Lonely Heart)
3. Steve Howe Solo (The Clap, Mood For A Day)
4. Rick Wakeman Solo (Gone But Not Forgotten, Catherine Parr, Merlin The Magician)
5. Long Distance Runaround
6. Birthright
7. And You And I
8. I’ve Seen All Good People
9. Close To The Edge
10. Themes (Sound, Second Attention, Soul Warrior)
11. Brother Of Mine
12. The Meeting
13. Heart Of The Sunrise
14. Order Of The Universe
15. Roundabout
16. Starship Trooper

Official Website: www.yesworld.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.