“All Over the World: The Very Best of Electric Light Orchestra” by Electric Light Orchestra

Artist: Electric Light Orchestra
Title: “All Over The World: The Very Best Of ELO”
Label: Epic Legacy
Release Date: 6/21/2005
Genre: Rock
Rating: 8/10

There is no denying the unmistakable sound that is the Electric Light Orchestra. The rich harmonies and lush musical orchestrations made this band a true hit maker for many years. The release of “All Over The World: The Very Best Of ELO” is proof positive of this status. Fans that own the first Greatest Hits compilation (which was essentially a CD version of an LP if memory serves me) will definitely enjoy this edition for it includes nine more tracks and reaches a little deeper into the Legendary bands catalog. “Cant Get You Out Of My Head” will be the only tune from the first hits piece to be excluded from this one which might surprise some since it was apparently the bands first hit. Beyond that it’s not so much the big deal when you consider that for a hits package that this one seems to include almost every other song you expect to find on such a release. As I listened I was taken back to my Youth when contemporary radio and LP’s (or 8 tracks) were the means of your sating the musical Jones. I again realized how much of this stuff I actually remembered and enjoyed. I seemed to also remember a lot of words and that amused me a little bit. Songs like “Telephone Line” and “Turnin’ To Stone” are classics and pretty much my very favorites. Founder and principle songwriter Jeff Lynne certainly has a lot to be proud of considering so many of these songs were truly radio hits and not just labeled as such for the sake of a greatest compilation. The music seems to have been given a little bit of a fine tuning in the mastering department so they also sound a little fuller and in the now of CD medium.

B-Movie “Xanadu” has its theme track revisited on the CD as well, this time we don’t get Olivia Newton John singing it and instead have the vocals of Jeff Lynne. People might not recall that ELO was a featured performer in this weird romantic musical. It’s a good CD to enjoy at a little bit more volume and admittedly it is very difficult to turn it off when you start. Fans of ELO will also enjoy the addition of some newer liner notes by Jeff and I think will readily add this compilation to their music collections. Newer fans that might not be as up on the group will be served well also as this is a perfect way to get a full scope of the music they brought to the table.

Track Listing:
1. Mr. Blue Sky
2. Evil Woman
3. Don’t Bring Me Down
4. Sweet Talkin’ Woman
5. Shine A Little Love
6. Turn To Stone
7. Diary Of Horace Wimp
8. Confusion
9. Hold On Tight
10. Livin’ Thing
11. Telephone Line
12. All Over The World
13. Wild West Hero
14. Showdown
15. Ma-Ma-Ma Belle
16. Xanadu (new version)
17. Rockaria!
18. Strange Magic
19. Alright
20. Rock & Roll Is King

Official Web site: www.enterbandnamehere.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.