“Alive 2: The Music” by Anthrax

Artist: Anthrax
Title: Alive 2 (2005)
Label: Sanctuary Records
Release Date: 9/20/2005
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 7/10

Released in tandem to the DVD of this performance along with a Greatest Hits compilation comes the reunion of the classic Anthrax lineup. In the 13 years that passed since the “Among The Living” team performed on the same stage the band continued with limited original members. It was still strong and had a good show of support but it did not have the impact on the old material that the classic group once had. This CD comes as the audio release of the concert DVD that bears the same name and with it listeners can once again hear Joey Belladonna, Danny Spitz, Scott Ian, Frankie Bello and Charlie Benante united. The recording is good but as someone who attended this particular show I was saddened to find 5 tracks not on the release from the set list that was performed. Recorded at New Jersey’s Starland Ballroom on June 3, 2005 this particular show was a highlight of many Metal heads Summer. While this should have been released as a double CD to capture the full effect, you end up getting the picture just enough to enjoy yourself. The band sounded tight and energetic and the audience reactions can literally be felt through the speakers. A review of the DVD and this Concert appear elsewhere on the site so check them out to draw your own comparisons on the event.

Of the tracks that were left off the CD there was “Metal Thrashing Mad”, “Madhouse” and “Got The Time” and this made me want for a second CD to fill up the release a little more. The group also performed “Lone Justice” and “I’m The Man” and I think after all this time the fans deserved a means to own the complete show on one item. I felt the standout songs on the recording would be “Deathrider” and “Antisocial” which are among my favorites. Similar to my critiques on the DVD, my opinion mirrors for the CD. I enjoyed it but felt it was incomplete and should have been sold as one package as was done with “Music For Mass Destruction” which the band released in 2004. If you must make a choice then buy the DVD as it offers you more bang (or should I say “headbang”?) for your buck. If you lean to CD’s only then this should serve you just fine. It is great to find Anthrax reunited in whatever capacity they are and it was a great reminder of a kick-ass show.

Song Listing:
1. Among The Living
2. Caught In A Mosh
3. A.I.R.
4. Antisocial
5. Efilnikufesin (N.F.L.)
6. Deathrider
7. Medusa
8. In My World
9. Indians
10. Time
11. Be All End All
12. I Am The Law

Official Web site: www.Anthrax.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.