“Ace Of Spades” Deluxe Edition (remaster) by Motorhead

Artist: Motorhead
Title: “Ace Of Spades” Deluxe Edition (remaster)
Label: Sanctuary Records
Release Date: 2/10/2009
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 4/5

In celebration of the bands 30th anniversary back in 2005, Sanctuary Records released remastered and expanded editions of many of the Motorhead classic albums. The double disc editions would feature the original album along with a second disc that was loaded with live tracks, rarities and outtakes that made them must haves for the discriminating fans music library. Full color booklets came par for the course with the remasters and they featured photos and topical information about the band during the time of the albums initial release that was really interesting historical reading. We reviewed a number of these albums when they first came out and since the musical content was the same we have re-presented our original comments about them below.

“Ace Of Spades” is probably the favorite Motorhead album of many people. From the title opening track all the way down to “The Hammer” this is a non-stop fist to the stomach example of Hard Rock and Roll. Look back on some of your favorite performers’ old interviews and you will see this album referenced as a masterpiece. Solid and direct, never over-complicating the music or the message, Lemmy, Philthy and Fast Eddie gave people what they wanted – a good time. The band was always fiercely loyal to those that helped them put the whole thing on the road and gave them “We Are The Road Crew”. For those that think Lemmy is not romantic, there is “Jailbait” and “The Chase Is Better Than The Catch”. The production of the remaster of AOS is tremendous, and similar to Motorhead in concert, the record must be played at volumes that will make your neighbors knock on your door. Don’t worry; you will not hear them for a second. The CD of bonuses is interesting as it is mostly a collection of alternate versions of the album tracks. This is great stuff to include, for you can compare it against the original release. You decide whether the correct version became the final and discuss it online with other Motorhead fans. Personally, the tracks on the bonus that I enjoyed most are the live BBC Radio 1 Sessions. For those unaware, the bands used to perform live in the studio and this went out over the UK Airwaves. Sadly, we don’t have a lot of that today, especially in the USA. The original album was released in 1980 and sounds fresh to this very day. This is also my favorite Motorhead album as it was my introduction to them as well. This CD made me look for that musty old vinyl and see if it still plays; too bad I no longer have a record player. You cannot consider yourself a Metal head or fan of Heavy Rock and not recognize the impact that Motorhead has on the genre and still holds to this very day. Ace Of Spades is the one re-issue that you should consider first if you are thinking of buying any of them. Give your old copy to a younger generation Rocker who can learn from it. Just make sure it’s a CD; they will not know what vinyl is, I am guessing.

Bonus Tracks: Dirty Love (b-side), Ace Of Spades (alt), Love Me Like A Reptile (alt), Love Me Like A Reptile (alt), Shoot You In The Back (alt), Fast And Loose (alt), (We Are) The Road Crew (alt), Fire Fire (alt), Jailbait (alt), The Hammer (alt), Dirty Love (alt), Dirty Love (alt). BBC Radio 1, David Jensen Session: Fast And Loose, Live To Win, Bite The Bullet, The Chase Is Better Than The Catch.

The cosmetic differences between these remasters and the initial batch are minimal but the first and most prominent one is that the jewel case which fit snugly into a cardboard sleeve has been changed. The CD’s now come on a double cardboard digipak that slides into a clear plastic sleeve while the artwork on the CD’s now feature the full visage of “Snaggletooth” as opposed to only half of his sinister mug and these new releases are black instead of the wider array of colors on the earlier ones. The booklets and content remain the same and while the hold a pricy tag for a double disc set in this economy, they are high recommendations based on the bands impact and relevance to Metal music history.

Track Listing:
1. Ace Of Spades
2. Love Me Like A Reptile
3. Shoot You In The Back
4. Live To Win
5. Fast And Loose
6. (We Are) The Roadcrew
7. Fire, Fire
8. Jailbait
9. Dance
10. Bite The Bullet
11. The Chase Is Better Than The Catch
12. The Hammer

Official Website: http://www.IMotorhead.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.