“’89 Live In Japan” by Quiet Riot

Artist: Quiet Riot
Title: “’89 Live In Japan”
Label: Music Video Distributors
Release Date: 11/16/2004
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 1.5/5

Fans of Quiet Riot, and I mean the ones that really followed the band hard core would remember this period the most where charismatic and very often outspoken lead singer Kevin DuBrow was no longer part of the bands roster. When the band had recorded their fourth album, he was replaced by Rough Cutt’s lead man Paul Shortino; the difference in the vocal styles could not have been any farther from each other (DuBrows raspy screaming versus Shortino’s bluesy wail). The album itself was met with very little fan approval and this concert film captures this era in the bands life and shows a little more light on why this was probably the case. Quiet Riot as the band we knew kicked ass in the fashion that they did because every member worked as part of the whole. DuBrow was never an amazing singer but his voice fit the material that they performed and while it’s true that Shortino has a much better voice than his predecessor he simply does not cut it on any of their older material no matter how hard he tried. There is very little of this stuff present on the video and instead a number of tracks from QR4 are presented and this leads me to another interesting notation. With Shortino on the microphone the band had the chance to expand them into new musical territory. His strong blues-based rasp fits very well along with the then popular Whitesnake (a band that their bassist Sarzo had now joined) but instead of this they delivered milquetoast and sappy Hard Rock ballads that really had little passion when compared to the stuff being brought to the table by their immediate competition. From this film you can see that QR had become a shadow of their former self. The lineup would be half originals on guitar and drums (Cavazo and Banali) and half new members (Paul Shortino and Sean McNabb), vocals and bass. The concert as a shoot is good enough but the crowd is hardly heard from and when they show them seem to be sitting in most cases.

As far as concert DVD’s go this one would be a large disappointment compared to what I expected to find here. The drum solo is perhaps the best part but even that is too short for a player like Banali to showcase his talent on. They lose extra points by featuring a live performance track of “Mama Weer All Crazee Now” as credits music instead of including it in the main concert where it was obviously performed. This film is purely for the Quiet Riot enthusiast or Music Archivist for research notes and little others.

Song Listing:
1. Party All Night
2. I’m Falling
3. Stay With Me Tonight
4. Run To You
5. The Wild And The Young
6. The Joker
7. Drum Solo
8. Coppin’ A Feel
9. King Of The Hill
10. Cum On Feel The Noize
11. Stay With Me – video

Official Web site: www.quietriot.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.