“1” (remaster) by The Beatles

Artist: The Beatles
Title: “1” (remaster)
Label: Capitol Records
Release Date: 9/13/2011
Genre: Rock
Rating: 5/5

In September 2009, the Rock & Roll fans of the world were once again reminded of the full impact and resonating musical influence that was the legacy of The Beatles catalog when it received the remastered treatment and was delivered in both a Stereo and a Mono boxed set. These collections featured all of the bands albums minus the “Anthology” releases and the “Live At The BBC” and were worthy additions to ones musical library. A little over a year had passed when “The Red Album: 1962-1966” and “The Blue Album: 1967-1970” would join them and now in 2011 the much lauded “1” gets its turn.

Originally released to the public in 2000, The Beatles collection “1” has been given the once over and remastered for the world of today and I could not be happier about it since it truly is a perfect hits compilation from beginning to end. Now I know that some of you are probably wondering what led to a primarily Hard Rock and Heavy Metal website’s offering up a review of the release but the answer is very simple – the music of The Fab Four is still magical, extremely relevant and continues to inspire new generations of musicians and fans on a day to day basis even now some fifty years since the band first performed in public. The “1” collection compiles every song by The Beatles that had reached the #1 position on the charts and unless someone’s accounting was off there are 27 such tunes from this vantage point to enjoy. Now it’s hard for me to actually quantify the importance of these legendary songs because they are already beloved along with being instantly recognizable in most music fans hearts. Let’s add to this the fact that certain songs hold a greater importance in people’s lives based on which one it happened to be that first taught them about The Beatles overall musical magic. Depending on your age if you were there from the beginning it could have been “I Want To Hold Your Hand” or perhaps it was “Come Together” because you first heard Aerosmith do it and it made you look to where it came from. I realize that sounds weird but sometimes, just sometimes, this happens. That said what are my own favorites you might be asking, well here goes nothing.

I am pretty sure that my own first foray into their music was with “I Wanna Hold Your Hand” but this was many years after the tune first was introduced to our shores. I was not even an idea then so mind your wry comments  My Mom listened to a wide variety of music when I was growing up and in that mix was the classic AM radio stations and they played this a lot. I did also enjoy much of “Yellow Submarine” and it had a cartoon feature as well which will always influence the younger mind. Well, it did back then for me at least. As I grew older I tended to lean on the tunes found on the “Blue Album” compilation more than its “Red Album” counterpart since I was getting into heavier more complex sounds and it was the first Beatles album I personally owned. That said I loved “Revolution” and the like but that was NOT a #1 track for the band. Suffice it to say there is not a single bad track on this collection and I guess that is what helped them reach the number one position on the charts. This was a great achievement back then and far different than it can be considered today since there was no Internet and certainly no Facebook or Twitter infiltration helping anything along. It was purely word of mouth and the small radios that their fans had and a pure passion to support the music that they loved. We can learn from this don’t you think?

The packaging for this edition comes in a digipak cardboard case as opposed to the original jewel case so it is a little slimmer on the library and looks nice against its contemporaries in The Beatles catalog if you have the rest of them. The booklet remains a full thirty pages of artwork, liner notes and key facts that will make this a worthwhile part of the purchase as well. I love a good booklet and this serves my purposes fine. It’s pretty cool to see all the original art that these singles came from. While you might have any or all of these tracks in your library when it comes to The Beatles section of your shelves I say grab this one since it helps complete it all and speaks to a defining time. It’s also a great present for the up and learning music fan in your circle of influence. That is truly all I have on this one and I hope I have made my point.

Track Listing:
1. Love Me Do
2. From Me To You
3. She Loves You
4. I Wanna Hold Your Hand
5. Can’t Buy Me Love
6. A Hard Day’s Night
7. I Feel Fine
8. Eight Days A Week
9. Ticket To Ride
10. Help!
11. Yesterday
12. Day Tripper
13. We Can Work It Out
14. Paperback Writer
15. Yellow Submarine
16. Eleanor Rigby
17. Penny Lane
18. All You Need Is Love
19. Hello, Goodbye
20. Lady Madonna
21. Hey Jude
22. Get Back
23. The Ballad Of John and Yoko
24. Something
25. Come Together
26. Let It Be
27. The Long And Winding Road

Official Website: www.thebeatles.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.